About me

mrs-atlHow do I sum myself up in such a small post?

I am a 31 year old wife and mother.  I married my husband in 2003 after dating for 3 years.  Apparently he still wanted to marry me even though I laughed at him while he was proposing.  I swear, it was a nervous giggle!

In 2005 we welcomed our first son, Big Boy (which is what I call him here on my blog), to the family.  As I had never really baby-sat before I had no idea what I was doing.  Thank goodness my brother had baby-sat and taught me how to change a diaper.  Having my son really changed my life and in a very good way.  Today he is 10 years old.  He loves all things sports, especially hockey.  He has an affinity for math and technology just like his mother.

My Little Man arrived on the scene in late 2009.  Because the boys are separated by 4 years, it took a little while to get back in the groove of knowing what to do with a newborn.  Having not changed diapers for about 2 years, that was a big step once again.  I bet my mom was looking down from Heaven at me and laughing.  Our youngest, Little Man as I refer to him here, is now 26 months old.  He loves sports just like his big brother, cartoons, coloring and playing with toys.  He also has many girlfriends.  Both of my boys are going to be heart breakers.  And if my boys are gay or transgendered, I am OK with that too!

Back to me as I am the star of this show – before having children I was a high school librarian.  I absolutely loved it.  I found my perfect place in the world, besides being a wife and mother of course.  However, after having our first child and returning to work for 2 years after that, we decided it would be best for me to stay at home.

Now, I work from home.  I have a couple part-time contract jobs doing website creation, desktop publishing and other computer projects.

I first began to blog in January 2011 but stopped after life became a little hectic.  In late September 2011, I came up with the idea of Insane MrsMidAtlantic and thought that writing about our everyday life would make for some funny and interesting blog posts.

I recently returned to school to upgrade and expand on my skills.  I am taking an Administrative Professional / Bookkeeping program via distance education.  Wish me luck!

Other things you should probably know about me – I love to read, listen to music, sing along to said music (although I only sing when I am alone), and learn anything and everything I can.  I love all things technology related.  Give me a gadget and I can figure it out in a few minutes.  (Well, maybe a couple of hours.)

I have always been a big fan of the Internet ever since we got it in our town in the 90’s.  I began designing websites from scratch (just HTML coding) when I was in high school and it turned into a job opportunity when I was in my early 20’s.  I haven’t had any formal training in it, I am basically self-taught and learned a few things in a web design course in high school.  I wish I had kept up with technology as my skills have somewhat faded.  I do still set up websites on occasion if asked to do so.

I wish I had more hobbies.  I would love to learn to paint but I am not an artist.  I desperately want to learn to play piano.  I always wanted to play but got stuck taking accordion and then organ lessons.  I would like to be able to cook better meals but sadly, I did not inherit my mother’s talented cooking skills.  Thank goodness I married a man who can cook for me.

We are basically your ordinary, everyday family.  Wife, husband, two children and one dog.

Throw in a sprinkle of laughter, a smidgen of chaos, and you have my life in a nutshell!